Board of Directors

CREW KC is managed by a Board of Directors that works together to set and accomplish the Chapter’s strategic goals—helping to advance the success of women in commercial real estate. Serving on the CREW KC Board of Directors is a unique opportunity for leadership and networking among other ambitious men and women working in the commercial real estate field.

All CREW KC Board members, directors, and committee chairs serve individual terms of one year.

Reasons to Serve

  • Increased visibility within the commercial real estate industry
  • Leadership skills and experience that benefit you and your company
  • Impact on the future of women in CRE
  • Expanded professional connections
  • Opportunity to influence direction and benefits of CREW KC membership

CREW Kansas City Board of Directors


SVP | Corporate Attraction, Kansas City Area Development Council (KCADC)


Principal, Wallace Engineering

Past President

Commercial Account Manager / Escrow Officer, Stewart Title


SVP | Corporate Attraction, Kansas City Area Development Council (KCADC)
Principal, Wallace Engineering



Director of Business Development, A.L. Huber


Senior Vice President - Finance / Development, Block & Company, Inc.
Commercial Market Manager, INTRUST Bank, N.A.
Real Estate Project Manager, QuikTrip Corporation
Regional Director of Operations, Working Spaces
Salesperson, DLM Commercial
Assistant General Counsel, Eighteen Capital Group
Director of Development, Drake Development, LLC

President - Sara Steele

Sara Steele joined Stewart Title as Commercial Account Manager / Escrow Officer in October 2014. She has 14 years’ experience in the commercial title insurance industry, as well as over 25 years in customer service, operations, management, and personnel training. Sara holds both a Kansas and Missouri insurance agents license, as well as being both a Kansas and Missouri notary. Her responsibilities over the years have included commercial sales, commercial marketing, and commercial escrow fiduciary responsibilities, including closing and disbursing, and commercial investments. Sara has experience closing on a variety of commercial properties, including medical office building portfolios, hotel portfolios, retail, multi-family, multi-state and multi-site transactions.

Sara has been an active member of CREW KC for 9 years and has served on the Board as Secretary, Co-Director for Sponsorship, Golf Committee and currently serving as President for 2020. Sara is currently participating in the CREW Network Leadership Certificate Program. Sara is also an FBI Citizens Academy Alumni and a member of KCRAR Commercial.  

President Elect - Jill McCarthy

With more than 28 years’ experience, Jill McCarthy leads a high-achieving business recruitment team for the Kansas City Area Development Council (KCADC)— driving new business, talent attraction and capital investment to KC’s 18 county, 50+ city, bi-state region. Jill works with companies and national site location consultants considering the Kansas City metropolitan area for expansion or relocation. Jill is responsible for the implementation of strategic initiatives directing more deal flow to the region and works across multiple disciplines.

Jill holds board positions with CREW KC, the Urban Land Institute (ULI) Kansas City Advisory Board and KC Tech Council. Jill is a mentor for the CREW Network Leadership Certificate Program. She was the 2019 Co-Chair of the Queens of the Diamond event supporting the KC MLB Urban Youth Academy; and a 2018 Honoree of the KCBJ Women Who Mean Business.  

Past Presidents

Our past presidents have been instrumental in laying the foundation for our success as an organization, and achieving our mission to assist in the advancement of professionals in the commercial real estate industry.

2019 - Christine Schlomann
2018 - Debra Swearingen
2017 - Joy Coleman
2016 - Lisa Tomlinson
2015 - Julia Taylor
2014 - Debora Field
2013 - Amy Slattery
2012 - Linda Laurence
2011 - Marcia Charney
2010 - Diana Ennis
2009 - Michelle Suter
2008 - Kellee Dunn-Walters
2007 - Rosana Privitera Biondo
2006 - Cydney Gurgens
2005 - Elizabeth Fast
2004 - Linda Peroff
2003 - Cheri Ricky
2002 - Pam Berneking
2001 - Marsha Laner
2000 - Kathy Schikevitz
1999 - RoxAnne Miller
1998 - Sandy Hollenbeck